Skip to content
or

Language switcher

Webinar: International day of struggle against monoculture tree plantations

21 Sep 2020
Zoom webinar in English, with Spanish and French interpretation @ 15:00 Amsterdam/CEST

Monday 21st September – 10am Santiago de Chile/3pm Amsterdam/6:30pm Delhi

September 21st marks International Day of Struggle Against Monoculture Tree Plantations, a day to celebrate resistance against the establishment and expansion of harmful commercial monocultures. To commemorate the occasion and amplify the struggles of Indigenous Peoples, local communities and in particular women, this year we are launching our new report on the gender-differentiated impacts of tree plantations and women-led resistance to industrial forestry. The report has contributions from nine GFC member groups from different regions showing how these ‘green deserts’ negatively impact the environment and communities, with an emphasis on the impacts that women suffer.

During this webinar our member groups will present concrete examples of these impacts and also how women’s rights groups and other civil society organisations are working to overcome them through protest and gender-responsive, community-led alternatives to the tree plantation model.

Moderator: Juana Vera Delgado, Global Forest Coalition

Speakers:

  • Sophie Chao, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Devjit Nandi, Navrachna, India
  • Constanza Ramos and Camila Romero, Colectivo VientoSur, Chile
  • Aphrodice Nshimiyimana, Global Initiative for Environment and Reconciliation, Rwanda
  • Daniela Meirelles, FASE/ES, Brazil

To participate, please register here. The webinar will take place on Zoom, which you can download here. The meeting will be held in English with interpretation in Spanish and French.